Warsaw in the network of international organisations

Warsaw is an active member of many international networks and organisations, which serve local government bodies to exchange knowledge and experience and to work out solutions to problems affecting modern metropolises. Bilateral cooperation with partner cities fulfils a similar function.

Warsaw seeks to influence international decision-making so that it reflects the interests of the city and its residents as closely as possible – operating this way, among others, within the EUROCITIES organisation, the European Committee of the Regions and the global network of C40 cities.

Other networks and organisations

Warsaw has belonged to the BaltMed network of metropolitan regions of the Baltic States since 2002, i.e. since its inception. In the years 2011-2012 it served as its chairperson. In recent years Network members have focused their activities on the exchange of experience in smart city and e-administration activities.

Warsaw joined this international forum of cities sharing cultural policy experiences and solutions in 2015. It is now one of the cities that are analysed and compared annually as part of the Cities Culture Forum Report.

OWHC brings together cities with UNESCO World Heritage Sites within their boundaries. There are currently 280 member cities of the OWHC, represented by mayors.

The City of Warsaw is a member of two secretariats:

  • Central and Eastern Europe
  • Northern Europe and North America

Municipalities belonging to the "Energie Cités" network took part in the "Garden overhead" project, funded under the Swiss Cooperation Programme. Swiss "green roofs" and "living walls" were a model and inspiration for innovative actions of Polish municipalities for energy savings and climate protection.

The mayor of Hiroshima visited the capital in 2019, and his visit resulted in the city authorities signing a letter of intent for Warsaw to join the Mayors for Peace organisation. The initiative was confirmed with a resolution by the Warsaw City Council and accepted by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 2020.