The Polin Award 2016 – get to know the nominees!

Print Link opens new window
The Museum of the History of Polish Jews. Fot. F.Kwiatkowski
The Museum of the History of Polish Jews. Fot. F.Kwiatkowski

Six people and one institution have been nominated for the Polin Award 2016. The nominations were made by the jury of the competition, chaired by Marian Turski, from among nearly 200 applications made by institutions and individuals.

The Polin Award is granted by the Museum of the History of Polish Jews to individuals, organisations and institutions actively operating for the preservation of the memory of the history of Polish Jews. The laureate of the 2nd edition of the event will be announced on 20 October at the Polin Museum in Warsaw.

88 different candidates, including individuals and institutions, sent nearly 200 applications to the Polin Museum. In the second edition of the Polin Award competition, the jury presided over by Marian Turski, honoured 6 individuals and 1 institution:
•    Robert Augustyniak, the initiator of activities connected with the restoration of the memory of the Jewish community in Grodzisk Mazowiecki, the originator of Intercultural Meetings in Grodzisk Mazowiecki;
•    Jacek Koszczan, the founder and president of the Shtetl Dukla Society for the Protection of the Heritage of Jews of Dukla Region;
•    Aleksandra Markiewicz, the creator of the Pardes Festival – Encounters with Jewish Culture in Kazimierz Dolny;
•    Sławomir Pastuszka, a voluntary carer of the Jewish cemetery in Pszczyna;
•    Łukasz Połomski, the originator and creator of the Shtetl of Tsanz historical project;
•    Mirosław Skrzypczyk, a teacher and cultural manager involved in and acting for the benefit of Jewish heritage in Lelów and Szczekociny;
•    The Świętokrzyski Shtetl Educational and Museum Centre in Chmielnik.

- “Through this competition we would like to express our gratitude and show everyone how important it is to preserve the history of Polish Jews. This choice was not an easy one – from among nearly 200 applications, this year we could select only a few. The jury nominated six individuals and one institution whose actions beautifully pursue the mission of the Polin Museum: to restore the memory of Polish Jews and create mutual understanding and respect between the Jews and the Poles,” said Prof. Dariusz Stola, Director of the Polin Museum.

The results of the competition are decided by the members of the jury: President Marian Turski, Chairman of the Polin Museum Council, Dariusz Stola, Director of the Polin Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Grażyna Pawlak, Director of the Professor Moses Schorr Foundation, Tomasz Pietrasiewicz, Director of the “Grodzka Gate – NN Theatre” Centre in Lublin, laureate of the Polin Award 2015, Paula Sawicka, Chairwoman of the Programme Council of the Open Republic Association Against Anti-Semitism and Xenophobia, and Piotr Wiślicki, Chairman of the Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland.

The award ceremony will take place on 20 October at the Polin Museum of the History of Polish Jews in Muranów in Warsaw. Winners of the Polin Award will receive statuettes by Barbara Falender and financial prizes of PLN 10,000, contributed by Tomek Ulatowski and Ygal Ozechov, the Distinguished Benefactors of the Polin Museum.
The POLIN Award was first granted in 2015. It went to Tomasz Pietrasiewicz, who since 1998 has carried out a number of educational and artistic projects devoted to the heritage of Lublin Jews. In its programme, the Centre refers to the symbolic and historic significance of its location, the Grodzka Gate, also known as the Jewish Gate, which used to be a transition point between the Christian and Jewish quarters of the city, a meeting place of various cultures, traditions and religions.