Prestigious distinction for Warsaw

Print Link opens new window
Panorama of the center of Warsaw, view from the Palace of Culture and Science looking west, skyscrapers, dusk, spring.
Author: Rafał Motyl Warszawa

The European Commission has announced this year's finalists for the European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) competition. Warsaw reached the final. It will now compete for the prestigious title of European Capital of Innovation 2023 together with Lisbon and Lviv.

The competition supported by the European Council for Innovation as part of "the Horizon Europe" programme recognises the role cities play in shaping and promoting innovation.

The iCapital awards are given to cities that put citizens and their well-being at the heart of their innovative projects, positively changing people's lives.

The selection process involved remote interviews with representatives of the six semi-finalist cities. Later, a jury of independent experts named three finalists, among which is Warsaw.

European cities are driving innovation

Cities play a key role in driving innovation, acting as dynamic hubs where different ideas, talents and resources meet. Their role was the subject of October's Next Generation Innovators Summit organised by the Spanish Presidency of the Council of the European Union in Madrid and the Plenary Assembly of the Forum of the European Council for Innovation.

The Last Stage

The European Capital of Innovation 2023 will receive a prize of EUR 1 million. The remaining finalist cities will each receive EUR 100,000 and all finalists will be invited to join the working group of the Forum of the European Council for Innovation, made up of previous iCapital Awards finalists.

The award ceremony will take place on November 27, 2023 in Marseille, as this city is the winner of last year's edition.

Ninth edition of the prestigious competition

The iCapital Award was awarded for the first time in 2014. Previous European Capitals of Innovation are: Barcelona (2014), Amsterdam (2016), Paris (2017), Athens (2018), Nantes (2019), Leuven (2020), Dortmund (2021) and Aix-Marseille-Provence Métropole (2022).