Awards for the best architects

Print Link opens new window
Awards for the best architects.Fot. F.Kwiatkowski
Awards for the best architects.Fot. F.Kwiatkowski

The creators of the best buildings in the capital will receive the Mayor of Warsaw Architecture Award. This year there will be two editions of the event - in the first, awards will be given for buildings constructed in the period 2001-2014, and in the second, for buildings completed in 2015.

Candidates for the awards may already submit their applications.
“Warsaw keeps changing and developing dynamically. New, beautiful buildings with high functional and aesthetic qualities are being constructed, which make the city more inviting and serve its residents. We have decided to show their creators our appreciation for setting new trends in the building sector of our city and have established a new, special award for architects. We cordially invite architects to enter the contest and send in submissions,” said Jacek Wojciechowicz, the Deputy Mayor.

Our contest includes the following categories:
1.    public utility architecture - public buildings,
2.    public utility architecture - commercial buildings,
3.    residential architecture - a building complex,
4.    residential architecture - a single building,
5.    revitalised architecture,
6.    public spaces,
7.    architecture events.

The submissions to both editions of the contest can be sent in by designers, investors and residents by 15 September 2016 via e-mail to:, or by traditional mail to: Biuro Architektury i Planowania Przestrzennego, Urząd Warszawy, ul. Marszałkowska 77/79, 00-683 Warszawa, with the annotation “Nagroda Architektoniczna [Architecture Awards]”.

The winners will be chosen by a 12-member committee appointed by The Mayor of Warsaw, including: Jacek Wojciechowicz, the Deputy Mayor, Marek Mikos, the head of the Architecture and Spatial Planning Department, and representatives of the Warsaw City Council, the Architecture and Public Space Council, the Municipal Committee for Urban Planning and Architecture, the Social Dialogue Committee for Architecture and Spatial Planning and the Warsaw Branch of the Association of Polish Architects.
The residents will cast their votes

The contest committee will appoint the award nominees, choosing up to five in each category, and the list of nominees will be announced by the end of October 2016.
In the first edition of the contest (2001-2014), three awards will be granted in each category, with ten nominees per category.
In the second edition of the contest (2015), one award will be granted in each category, with a special award in the form of a Grand Prix. Also on-line voting will be held for the residents to enable them to pick one building from the nominees pool. The residents will cast their votes in November (after nominations announcement) and will last for several weeks.